Things I love about Korea – from a Singaporean Perspective

1. Media

I am not into Kpop but I am into Korean variety shows, Korean dramas and its language. Hence, I love the fact that when I watch YouTube shows, Korean advertisements play. I love that the television broadcasts all the latest Korean variety and dramas. The bonus point for me is that there’s no English subtitles so I can focus 100% on just listening on the Korean (I rely too much on the subtitles and this does not train me to listen to the language).

2. Food

I love to eat and Korean food is great for me. My exchange mate may not agree so since she can’t take spicy stuff and the kimchi here is spicy for her. Not for me though. I think the kimchi is very salty and prefer the kimchi at NTU’s bibimbap’s store. I love to eat meat and they eat a lot of BBQ or different marination sauces of meat here. Just one food that I don’t like and it’s cold noodles. I still prefer my noodles to be warm or hot.

3. Subway – Food eating

I love how I can drink water and eat snacks without feeling guilty here (or breaking any laws). Just be considerate about the smell. Definitely no durian eating on train. Haha.

4. Convenience

I like how you can visit many places of interests easily by taking public transport. In fact, in my two months stay in Korea, I had only taken the taxi once – from my exchange university to where the express buses were located. I had to do so as I was carrying 6 luggage (total more than 30kg) by myself and the way there is steep. The taxi charged about 4,000won for about 10min ride. During my two months stay, I went to many places in Seoul and even went to Busan and Daejeon alone, all using public transport.

5. Safe

I did not venture past midnight by myself or went to clubs or any isolated places but I like how Suwon, the place where my university in Korea was located, remained crowded even after 10pm. It was nice to have so many shops opening at night just outside the school.

Leave a comment